Women’s Equality Day

August 26 marks the day in 1920 when the 19th Amendment passed giving women in the United States the right to vote. Here’s how other countries weigh in.

Finland 1906
Norway 1913
Denmark and Iceland 1915
USSR and the Netherlands 1917
Austria, Czechoslovakia, Poland, Sweden, Great Britain, and Canada 1918
Germany and Luxembourg 1919
Ecuador 1929
Spain 1931
Brazil 1932
India 1935
The Philippines 1937
El Salvador 1939
Dominican Republic 1942
France 1944
Japan 1945
Belgium, Italy, Romania, Yugoslavia and Argentina 1946
China and Liberia 1947
Indonesia 1955
Uganda 1958
Nigeria 1960
Switzerland 1971
Liechtenstein 1984
Saudi Arabia 2015
Currently there is only one country where women are not allowed to vote, The Vatican.


Shop Calendars.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.