First Meeting of the United Nations

January 10, 1946 the first meeting of the General Assembly of the United Nations took place in London, with 51 members. The Norwegian Foreign Minister Trygve Lie, was elected as the first UN Secretary-General.  The United Nations has six principle organs, with the following functions

The General Assembly (deliberation)

The Security Council (resolutions for peace and security)

The Economic and Social Council (promoting international economic and social cooperation )

Secretariat (providing studies and information)

The International Court of Justice

The UN Trusteeship Council (inactive since 1994)

UN System agencies include The World Bank Group, The World Health Organization, The World Food Programme, UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Science, and Cultural Organization) and UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Fund)

The current Secretary-General of the UN is Antónia Guterres of Portugal.


The UN does not seek copyright for the majority of its documents and this image of its official flag is in the public domain.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.