Saint Stephen and Republic of Srpska

January 9 is the Feast Day of St. Stephen, the first Christian martyr. It is also the day in 1992 when Republic Srpska seceded from Bosnia and Herzegovina making Stephen Srpska’s patron saint.

It would be hard to imagine anything more splintered. Not only is its name a conglomeration, Bosnia and Herzegovina is made up of three recognized entities, the main two being The Republic of Srpska (orange) and the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (yellow). The third is the Brčko District (green).

Brčko District is formally held in condominium by both entities, it is a de facto third entity, as it has all the same powers as the other two entities and is under the direct sovereignty of BiH.

According to the Fair Observer, Srpska is challenging some previously held authority of Bosnia and Herzegovina over its affairs.


This SVG map is the work of PRODUCER and is available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

Disclaimer: The information on this website is accurate to the best of my knowledge at the time of writing. I make no guarantee as to its accuracy. Its purpose is to inform, educate, amuse, and raise awareness about causes and opportunities around the globe. I also encourage civil debate in the comments.


Flag Counter


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.