Saint Stephen and Republic of Srpska

It would be hard to imagine anything more splintered. Not only is its name a conglomeration, Bosnia and Herzegovina is made up of three recognized entities, the main two being The Republic of Srpska (orange) and the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (yellow). The third is the Brčko District (green).

Although the Brčko District is formally held in condominium by both entities, it is a de facto third entity, as it has all the same powers as the other two entities and is under the direct sovereignty of BiH.

The Republic of Srpska declared its independence from Bosnia and Herzegovina on January 9, 1992 resulting in the Bosnian War. Since the Republic of Srpska uses the Julian calendar, the Feast of St. Stephen, the first Christian martyr, falls on January 9, making him the patron saint of the republic.


This SVG map is the work of PRODUCER and is available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.